Loading Events

« All Events

Chicago Philharmonic

Sunday, March 1 @ 3:00 pm
Center Theatre
$25 | $39 | $59 | $75

Promise: Mozart, Pärt, Bacewicz, Dvořák

Across generations there are those who reach for the stars. Experience Mozart and Dvořák on the threshold of greatness, and Bacewicz’s magnum opus that led her to international acclaim. Joining us for Pärt’s Trisagion are our friends Visceral Dance Chicago for another unique collaboration.

Scott Speck | conductor
Nick Pupillo | choreographer, Visceral Dance Chicago

Dvořák Serenade for Strings
Pärt Trisagion
Bacewicz Concerto for String Orchestra
Mozart Divertimento in D Major

About Chicago Philharmonic
The Chicago Philharmonic Society is a collaboration of nearly 200 of the highest-level classical musicians performing in the Chicago metropolitan area. Governed under a groundbreaking structure of musician leadership, the Society presents concerts at venues throughout the Chicago area that cover the full spectrum of classical music, from Bach to Bernstein and beyond. The Society’s orchestra, known simply as the Chicago Philharmonic, has been called “one of the country’s finest symphonic orchestras” (Chicago Tribune), and its unique chamber music ensembles, which perform as the Chicago Philharmonic Chamber Players, draw from its vast pool of versatile musicians. The Society’s community engagement programs connect Chicago-area youth to classical music and provide performance opportunities for members of the community. Founded nearly 30 years ago, the Chicago Philharmonic currently serves as the official orchestra of the Joffrey Ballet, continues its 25-year association with the Ravinia Festival, is a resident company of Harris Theater Chicago, and performs at Auditorium Theater, Symphony Center and all the great concert halls of the Chicago and North Shore area. In 2018, the Illinois Council of Orchestras awarded the Chicago Philharmonic “Orchestra of the Year”. In 2019, the Illinois Council of Orchestras awarded the Chicago Philharmonic with “Programming of the Year” and “Community Relations of the Year”.